My New Works

Part II

It has been seven years since I published my first novel Liquor House Music. When life intervened as it always does, I took a hiatus from writing and promoting my works for a few years.  They had to take a back burner for a while until issues I was dealing with were leveled out.

In 2009, when the desire to begin writing again hit, I started out with some short stories.  I submitted them to literary magazines and online journals, and many of them were published. 

I was also working on two novels-in-progress during that time.  When I was ready to self publish my works, I reviewed the short stories I had written.  I noticed there was a common thread that ran through all of my short stories, so I decided they would make a great short story collection, titled Trouble Down South and Other Stories. I decided to start with them since they were already written and edited, and all I’d need to do was format them as a collection, upload them to Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing site, and they’d be ready to sell.

The novels-in-progress had some more work to be done to them, so I figured publishing the collection would be a way to get the word out and provide more time for me continue tweaking my novels-in-progress.

I also published several of the short stories from the collection (Rock, Missus Buck, and Slave Auction) as “Singles,” sold as stand-alone ebooks.  That way, readers could sample one of my “Singles,” and if they liked it, they would be more inclined to buy the collection.  It is working so far.  “Singles” are a great fit for an ebook—they are short, they can be read in a lunch hour, and they are entertaining.  A winning combination.

I am currently working on getting another novel to print, Bootlegger Haze, a story about Black bootleggers during the Prohibition Era.  It is in the final editing stage with beta readers reviewing it.  I am also working on designing the cover for the novel.  My anticipated publication date is September 1, 2011. 

Now I am preparing for my book launch, and I am sharing this information with my readers so that they can be a part of this exciting event. 

Stay tuned for more information about the Bootlegger Haze Launch Party!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Etta on July 8, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I finished reading last night “Trouble Down South and Other Stories” and I must say that the book aroused all of my emotions.I love how you bring the reader (me) into the stories. I cried, laughed, and felt anger. I am excited to hear a new book is up and coming soon! “Liquor House Music” was awesome; therefore, I know “Bootlegger Haze” will have me staying up later than my normal bedtime…I will not want to put the book down! Please me posted on your upcoming exciting event

    Reply

    • Hi Cuz, thanks so much for supporting my works. You are inspiring me to keep at this. I am enjoying the process and am glad readers like you are finding my books an interesting read. I will definitely keep you posted on the book launch events for Bootlegger Haze. Thanks again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

