Fishing on the Oregon Inlet–Nags Head

 

 Fishing on the Oregon Inlet–Nags Head

IMG_4107

I was excited when my brother and his wife invited my husband and me to go fishing with them at Nags Head.  My brother chartered a fishing boat.   While waiting for the charter boat to come in, I decided to take some pictures of the boats at dock.

 

IMG_4100

IMG_4101

IMG_4109

IMG_4113

IMG_4115

IMG_4135

 

Captains Will and Viv McPherson at Sinbad Sportsfishing Charters took us out to fish on their boat, Sinbad, in the Oregon Inlet.  They were wonderful hosts and showed us a great time.  They made the fishing experience memorable.

Captain Will Captain Viv Epherson

IMG_4276

IMG_4136

 

We are on our way, leaving the marina to head out to deeper water.

 

IMG_4148

 

Once the Captain located a spot to fish, it didn’t take long for the fish to start biting.  My husband was excited when he reeled in his first catch.  That was the first time we had been fishing on the ocean.

IMG_4164

IMG_4249

 

My brother and his wife enjoyed themselves immensely.  They wanted to catch fish and fish they did catch!

IMG_4183

IMG_4210

IMG_4250

 

It was a beautiful sunny day with warm breezes cooling us off.  We spent about three hours out on the water, and in between catching some Spanish mackerel and blue fish, we would sit back and enjoy the relaxing motion of the boat.  When it was time to head back in, my husband and I took some selfies.

IMG_4252

IMG_4253

 

The ride back to the marina was probably the best part for me.  So relaxing and refreshing as the water sprays peppered my face.  I wanted to remember this moment, so I took some pictures of reels and lures on the boat.

IMG_4181

IMG_4234

IMG_4221

 

We passed several buoys as we headed in.

IMG_4212

 

We didn’t get a chance to visit the Bodie Island Lighthouse, so I took a picture of it.  Maybe next time, we will make that visit.

IMG_4237

 

We weren’t the only ones heading back in.  We passed a few boats that were bringing in their catch of the day.

IMG_4207

IMG_4257

IMG_4265

 

All in all, the fishing trip was wonderful.  We caught over 50 fish.  I think that was great for our first time charter fishing.  We shared our catch with family and ate some tasty FRESH fish.

IMG_4275

IMG_4274

 Can’t wait until we go again!

*****

 

I am an artist and an author of southern and historical fiction and short stories.  View all my artwork on my artist page at Daily Paintworks.

Check out more of my artwork at my Art Blog–KPWms Art Studio.

Also check out my novels and short stories.  Katrina Parker Williams’ Books Available at Amazon,  Smashwords, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, and iTunes).

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by patriciafuqua on October 14, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    Oh what fun it is fish out in the vastness of God’s blue ocean. I have not done that but you have now stirred a spirit in me that makes me want to go out and catch a meal! Glad your trip was fun filled. As always, I enjoyed your writing, which is (by the way) why I read your posts. Learning… forever learning the writing process. Come on book publication of Patricia Fuqua Lovett!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lenore Peay on October 14, 2014 at 10:13 pm

    CUZ, I LOVED THIS….NOW I HAVE TO GO FISHING FOR MYSELF…..TELL YOUR BROTHER I WANT TO GO NEXT TIME….LOVE Y’LL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

