Working with Water Mixable Oil Paints

I have been painting for years using acrylic paints.  I like the fast-drying characteristics of acrylic paints, and I also prefer not to have to deal with toxic chemicals such as turpentine to thin the paints.  One disadvantage of acrylic paints for me is their fast-drying characteristic.  Often the acrylic paints dry too fast, especially when trying to create subtle blends and to avoid hard lines.  Although acrylic paints can tend to change colors when they dry, I still like how they perform.

Recently, I decided to try water mixable oil paints.  One of the main reasons to try these paints is their slow drying time.  They also clean up with water.  Water mixable oil paints work the same as traditional oil paints; however, no turpentine or toxic solvent is needed.  Water mixable oil paints can be thinned with linseed oil, which is non-toxic, another benefit of these  paints.

IMG_4306I purchased a selection of the Martin/F. Weber Co. series of water mixable oil paints to see how they would work for me.  They have great colors, and they  don’t dry nearly as fast as acrylics.  That is something I am going to have to get used to.

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a list of the paint colors I bought.

White Permanent

Paynes Gray

Ivory Black (Warm Shade)

Raw Umber

Raw Sienna

Yellow Ochre

Cadmium Yellow Light Hue

Cadmium Yellow Medium Hue

Cadmium Orange Hue

Rose Permanent

Alizarin Crimson Permanent

Dioxazine Purple

French Ultramarine Blue

Phthalo Blue (Blue Shade)

Cobalt Blue Hue

Sap Green

The buttery texture of water mixable oil paints allows me to spread the paints smoothly on my work surfaces.  I find that I don’t need to use linseed oil to thin the paints although I may play around with that technique to see if I like how the painting turns out.

I tested these paints on a canvas panel to see how long they take to dry.  On average, five days is long enough for the paintings to be dry to the touch, that is if I don’t apply the paints heavily.  If I painted with a palette knife, then I am sure more time would be needed for the paintings to be dry to the touch.  I also bought some quick drying liquid to mix with the paints to see if it will speed up the drying time.  Time will tell.

I think I am going to like using water mixable oil paints for my purposes.  I am going to have to get used to the long drying times, but that just means making more space for my paintings to be laid out to dry for days.  I think I can work with that.

 

 

*****

 

I am an artist and an author of southern and historical fiction and short stories.  View all my artwork on my artist page at Daily Paintworks.

Check out more of my artwork at my Art Blog–KPWms Art Studio.

Also check out my novels and short stories.  Katrina Parker Williams’ Books Available at Amazon,  Smashwords, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, and iTunes).

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

